Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Preferred base location/design
Hi everyone. I'm new to the VC mod pack and the League, but am loving it. I've been running the pack for a week or two now and am becoming comfortable with it.

And it is time to relocate from my starter base to somewhere with more room and a better view. So I thought I would ask the League where are your favorite places to build a base, why and what type of design do you use?

Thanks,
Ravenspath
I have a tendency to burrow into mountains for my bases. I put a house on top and then a sprawling multi-level complex inside. I don't have any strong reasoning; it's just a preference. I do look for mountains that form a valley between them and do my farming in the valley. I then build bridges across peaks. If you're lucky, you can find a mountain right next to a Mesa or Desert biome for use in the chemistry side of Mekanism processing.
Thanks for the suggestion SabotCain. By chance I just started my new base in a similar way. It is a cliff at the far end of a cove with some nice size hills next to it that I will be able to dig in to. There is a small valley behind the cliff where I have started my orchard and will be planting crops next. I've built a single room house on top of the cliff and plan on building a room in the middle of the cliff face with a wall of glass overlooking the cove. The cliff faces directly east which will be nice I think.

Thanks again.
I do the same thing, windows in the side of the cliff overlooking the scenery. Good stuff. Glad you found a suitable place.
I know this is a bit more general than your specific question, but here are some elements which I consider when building a final base.